Come Share Our Table – Finger Lickin’ Coconut Fried Chicken

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve died and gone to fried chicken heaven. My apologies for not having an exact recipe. I was rushing to get dinner on the table and didn’t write anything down tonight. But it went something like this.

Yesterday I put some boneless skinless organic chicken thighs in a ziplock bag with low fat buttermilk and garlic powder. Tonight I drained the chicken and sprinkled on some salt and cajun season. Do not dry the chicken. It needs the residual buttermilk that’s left on it after draining to adhere to the seasoned flour. In a separate wide bowl I mixed together roughy 4 parts white flour and 1 part cornmeal and added a pinch of nutmeg, garlic powder, onion powder, cajun season, and lots of fresh cracked black pepper to season it. I melted a half-inch layer of organic coconut oil in a 12 inch cast iron skillet on medium high heat. While the oil was getting nice and hot, I dredged the chicken in the flour mixture one by one, meticulously making sure that every nook and cranny of the chicken got some yummy coating on it. I then fried four pieces at a time until both sides were a crunchy, golden (almost orangish) brown and the chicken was cooked through.

This chicken was crazy crunchy and soooooooo yummy!!  The cornmeal adds a great texture to the crust and is very crunchy while the coconut oil imparts an unmistakable sweet undertone. You have to, have to make this. To seal the deal I made some cheddar biscuits and sweet corn to go with. My family is so in love with me right now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Categories: Dinner, Recipes

Tagged as: , ,

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

