Lucky Shots – Location Scouting

I’m flattered and slightly terrified. My good friend has asked me to do her maternity photos. This will be my first time doing a shoot of any kind for anyone besides myself, so I’ve been a busy bee researching and preparing. I’ve only been seriously practicing photography for two months, so please wish me good luck!

Today I decided to take a deep breath, take a step back and drive up the countryside looking for visual inspiration for the Bohemian style look this mommy-to-be is hoping for. I still need to find a pretty field where we won’t be trespassing, but here are some photos of other interesting textures and colors I found that spoke to me.

I’m not sure if she’ll be as excited about this find as me, but I’m picturing her holding a bouquet of wildflowers. Look at all the amazing colors and textures. You couldn’t recreate it if you tried!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the black shutters and red door against the white wood as well as the vertical lines of the boards.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This beautiful punch of turquoise is amazing!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the different colors in the wood combined with the metal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The bright orange dolly will have to go, but the yellow is gorgeous and there is an opportunity to use the lines in the wood deck as “leading lines”, something I read about in this article from Click It Up A Notch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We’ll have to move some things around so that mommy-to-be is safe, but I love the distressed wood.

,OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Any advice on maternity shots would be much appreciated!

xo – Cecile

Leave a Reply

