My Journey Into Yoga

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A friend recently invited me to her Yoga studio. Lately, I’ll try anything that will help me slow down, de-stress and untangle the noise in my life – within legal and ethical means, that is 🙂

I’ve had reservations about Yoga in the past and fallen into the trap of stereotyping. I liked the idea of Yoga for flexibility and strength but wasn’t personally into the Eastern philosophies that typically ebb and flow with Yoga practice.

Nevertheless, I decided to give it a try and have found that you don’t have to believe in Eastern philosophies to reap many wonderful benefits from Yoga. It is a practice of peace, beauty and stillness that can benefit anyone seeking to eliminate noise that clutters the body and mind so that we can have strength and clarity to focus on the things that matter most to us, whatever that may be.

The Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary defines Yoga as this:

1. a Hindu theistic philosophy teaching the suppression of all activity of body, mind, and will in order that the self may realize its distinction from them and attain liberation
2. a system of exercises for attaining bodily or mental control and well-being

Well-being. I like that. Yes, I did indeed feel like it helped me attain well-being. At the beginning of class the instructor usually has us set an intention for our practice. As someone who comes from a Christian worldview, I’ve set intentions such as this,

Let me feel your presence, Lord, and thank you for giving me my health. Help me use my life to honor you and spread your love to the world.

As I went through my practice I was able to focus on this intention, finding quietness of mind, body and soul, enabling me to go home and be present more, praise more, yell less, and have the strength needed to be a busy mom.

What I also love about going to class is the respect and gratitude the instructor and students have for one another. I know very few places in my every day life where people show each other this level of respect without awareness of social standing, profession, religion, or financial means.

Everyone matters. Everyone’s practice matters. Everyone has something to contribute. No one is less. No one is more.

If you haven’t tried yoga, whether it be because no one’s invited you or because you weren’t sure you’d fit in, I think you’ll find that it’s a place where everyone is welcome and everyone can attain well-being.

Until next time, be present for the ones you love and let’s make this day count!

Categories: Well Being

Tagged as:

2 replies »

  1. I really want to try yoga. Because of my disabilities I can’t get into many poses, but it would help to maybe one day get into some of them. I have started meditating and it seems to make a difference in clarity. Always good to try new things! Good blog! Jim

    Like

    • Thank you very much! I love the end of my yoga classes because there is time set aside for meditation and stillness. I hope you’ll give it a try one day. I’m still very new at it myself.

      Like

Leave a Reply

