Come Share Our Table – Strawberry Nutella Rice Krispy Treats Pop Tarts and Bacon Hearts

Happy Valentines Day everyone!

I hope that you will be spending time doing the things you love today whether it be hanging out with your family, taking a walk with your dog, or sitting down with a cup of tea to your favorite music.

I woke up a tad bit earlier this morning to make a special Valentines breakfast for my family. I hope that my children will remember these acts of love later on in life.

Bacon Hearts

My husband pointed out the irony of making hearts out of bacon. Yes, my heart is indeed made of bacon since I ate a ton of it when I was pregnant with my first:-)

I preheated the oven to 375 degrees F. while I layed out the bacon in the shape of a heart onto a rimmed baking sheet. The bacon I used was pretty thick so it was a little harder to do. I would recommend buying thinner bacon so that you can stretch and maneuver it more easily.

I forgot this step here, but I usually place a cookie sheet on top of the pan first so that the fat can drain off the bacon as it’s cooking. They still turned out very crispy so all was well.

Place them in the oven on the middle rack and start checking them at about 10 minutes. They could take as long as 15-20 minutes depending on your oven and how crispy you like your bacon. Turn them around to the other side when serving for a prettier presentation.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Strawberry Nutella Rice Krispy Treats Pop Tarts

I decided to try my hand at making homemade pop tarts this morning. A restaurant nearby sells them for about $5 each. Yikes! I’m sure they take the time to make their own crust, but I took the easy way out this morning and used store bought refrigerated pie crust. I find the refrigerated kind easier to use than the frozen kind because the frozen one tends to crack and break.

I cut out my own heart template because I found that my heart shaped cookie cutter just wasn’t big enough. The pie crust I bought (Pillsbury) came with two crusts. I was able to get three hearts from each crust for a total of six hearts (three pop tarts).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I spread roughly 1 teaspoon of strawberry jam onto one side of the pop tart, and roughly 1 teaspoon of Nutella on the other side leaving about a 1/4 inch border all the way around so that the filling doesn’t ooze out the sides. Then came the best part! I dotted on some Rice Krispy treats I had made yesterday right on top of the Nutella for a crispy surprise!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lay the strawberry and Nutella hearts on top of each other. Seal the edges together by pressing on them with the tines of a fork. Even though I had left a border all the way around I had some oozing. I’m okay with some oozie goodness, aren’t you?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See the rectangle one? That’s mine. I call it the Mommy Scraps. They never look as nice, but they taste delicious because I know that because of them I was able to give my family the loveliest looking ones:-)

By the time the bacon was done, I had finished preparing all my pop tarts. After pulling the bacon out and letting them drain on paper towels, I turned the oven up to 425 degrees F. Then I popped in the pop tarts for 12 minutes.

While they were turning a light golden brown, I made a simple icing out of powdered sugar, milk, and a squeeze of lemon juice to balance out the sweetness of the sugar and give the glaze some brightness. I wish I could share my recipe but I didn’t measure anything. But,  it went something like this:

Icing

  • Dump some powdered sugar in a medium sized bowl
  • Add about a tablespoon of milk
  • Using a whisk, stir it, adding a tiny bit of milk at a time until it reaches the consistency you want (if it gets to the consistency of school glue then it’s too runny, add a little more powdered sugar)
  • Add just a tiny bit of food coloring (use a toothpick inserted into the color) and stir until you get the shade you want

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA


As soon as the pop tarts come out of the oven, spoon on about a teaspoon of glaze to start, adding more if you need it, and gently spread it with the back of a spoon all over.

While the glaze is still warm and before it sets, decorate it with colorful sprinkles of your choice.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I served mine up with the Bacon Hearts and some cut up red bell peppers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope you enjoy making these for your loved ones (or just for yourself!).

This Valentines Day, my family is remembering that God is Love, and we are called to show His love in this world, this country, and our community. Happy Valentines Day to you and thank you for reading this post. My God bless your day!

Until next time, be present for the ones you love and let’s make this day count!

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

